The Bat Cave is an aptly named attraction on the outskirts of Taiping, where people take their children to scare them into behaving. If you can overcome your fear of the dark and your claustrophobia, this is an exciting side trip that you can take on your way to the Fairy Waterfall or Sun Moon Lake. It should take less than an hourbat cave sign.jpg

The area immediately in front of the cave has changed many times and the ruins of previous bridges, viewing platforms and railings are conspicuously present. Rest assured, that bridge that spans that butt-hole-puckering chasms didn’t break because a poorly behaved, obese child was swinging it in order to scare foreign tourists; a typhoon took it out. Needless to say, stay home during typhoons. Don’t be an idiot. Otherwise, rest assured that the platform will not crumble under your feet and cast you into the drink.

sapphire bat cave.jpg

May, my loyal mutt, Sapphire, and my foul-mouthed self approached the entrance, took a deep breath and plunged forward. I immediately let out a shriek of horror. Both May and Sapphire jumped in alarm. Gotcha! I was just messing around. No cave monsters yet.  Wielding May’s phone for light, I led the way and we advanced.

I wasn’t going to ‘fess up to my claustrophobia, but I was greatly relived when the cave widened out a bit after a hundred yards or so. As we continued, there was water on the ground that got progressively deeper until it was up past our ankles. So far, we had seen nothing: scary, interesting or even notable. This only increased the suspense we felt. I was expecting: a cave beast, vampire bats or even Batman to drop from a hidden trapdoor and strike fear into my heart and second.

“For a place called the “Bat Cave”, there sure aren’t any bats”, I announced. As if on cue, something flew past me from behind. I wasn’t sure if it was a tiny bat or a giant bug, but a few seconds later, I spotted a half-dozen tiny figures hanging from the ceiling.

“Awww. They are kinda cute!” In response, the bat I was admiring took to the air and I flinched like a bitch.

May scoffed “cute?”

“That doesn’t mean I want to TOUCH it!” I insisted.

With my masculinity now in question, we continued. There were dozens of golf-ball-sized bats that would take flight and accumulate in front of us the entire way. We were ankle-deep in water and guano, and Sapphire had certainly earned a bath when the cave eventually ended on a largely unremarkable ledge. We took some pictures then returned the way we came. bat cave exit.jpg

This was a very rewarding adventure and worth the trip all on its own. Go ahead and start driving up towards Sun Moon Lake. Ask any local in the area and they will know where it is. It’s hard to miss. It’s just past a giant Buddhist temple and the platforms are quite conspicuous. Go check it out.

Rocky

