This week, I have put in two new 40 sq foot beds. One is under mulch and the other planted with tomato transplants and “Pepper Black Hungarian” I got from a fellow American. We are both sick of the tasteless peppers that the locals use.

 

I also made a compost bin from the weed saplings growing around my site and filled it with the more succulent weeds growing underneath. Like a sacrifice to the gods of old, I gave the copiced weeds a hit of urine in hopes that they will grow back quickly and yield more biomass.

 

With the woody, un-compostable materials clogging up my walkways and an abandoned metal drum I found nearby, I made some char and tilled that into the tomato and pepper bed along with 1500ml of urine to “feed” the char and prevent it from robbing all the nitrogen in the soil. This same bed also received a few bok choy seedlings I’d thinned from another bed. I’m eager to see how it performs compared to most of the rest of the garden which hasn’t yet received any char or compost (as I have none to give yet).

 

The row of kale is doing something strange. They are bigger on one end and progressively smaller on the other. I suspect its a sunlight issue that I’m not witnessing as I only go to the garden in the morning and they are all in full sun during that time. Perhaps one end receives more sunlight than the other.

 

My father, a gardener by necessity since he was a boy, told me once that most people overwater their gardens more often that they underwater. Since it has been dry and hot for the past week, I’ve had the chance to experiment a little with water resilience. Aside from watering freshly sown seeds to encourage germination, my garden has received no supplemental water at all. And you know what? Everything survived! Both seedlings and established plants had no problems and are flourishing. For advice on gardening without irrigation, I highly recommend Gardening Without Irrigation from Steve Solomon. Solomon knows his shit. He has been gardening professionally for 25 years. No armchair theory in his literature. The guy practices what he preaches and can tell you from experience EXACTLY how to pull this off. Links for the free PDF and Librovox recording are below.

 

 

Librovox recording:

https://librivox.org/gardening-without-irrigation-by-steve-solomon/

 

Free PDF:

http://soilandhealth.org/wp-content/uploads/0302hsted/030201/03020100frame.html

 

