If your dog is not yet trained to consistently come on command, then it needs to be on a leash. This seems like common sense but as They say “common sense isn’t very common”. This essay is for those of you who are too stupid/ignorant/inbred to understand why, and those of you who are as pissed off as I am and need some validation.

 

An unleashed dog who is not under your verbal control is a danger to itself and a menace to other people at the very least. Considering that you’re too dumb to leash him in the first place, I realize that you maybe can’t comprehend the idea that not everyone loves Rover as much as you do. As much as I love my own 4 dogs, I have the cognitive capacity to recognize that its possible Mrs Wang cant tell if Sapphire is running up to her because she wants to be friends, or if she wants to take a chomp out of that pink, juicy ass. So when my approaches anyone, tail wagging 100 MPH and that someone starts backing away, I tell her to “leave it”. This is a command she learned BEFORE ever being allowed off leash along with “come here”. Belive you me, there are cowardly dog haters out there that will leave poisoned snacks in the park you walk your dogs. “Leave it” is a lifesaving command. Your untrained, unleashed dogs harass my dogs too. I cant count how many times someone elses dog has tried to lure mine into the street to play. That brings me to my next point about untrained, unleashed dogs being a threat to themselves. If mine were not trained to “come here” and “leave it” they might just follow your poorly behaved dipshit onto the busy road where tragedy will likely ensue. It’s too late to train him to “come” when he is a road pizza.

 

So how do you train Fido to come on command, you ask? We have this awesome thing called Google that can answer that question far better than I can. If you are such an ignoramus that you cant even read then you can ask mommy to search for a “how to” on Youtube after she is done spoon feeding you apple sauce. My personal favorite way that you wont see anywhere else (at least, i haven’t) is what I’ve dubbed the “Chaingang Method” and it is how I’ve taught all but my first dog to “come here” on command. Simply leash the puppy to a trained dog and let them play. Call them over and the trained dog will drag the puppy over with him. They both get rewarded and released to play. Repeat until Puppy figures out what “come”, “come here”, “get over here before I sell you to the Vietnamese” or whatever your choice of command means.

 

This is the part where I answer those questions that everybody but those of nearly average intelligence tend to have.

 

Q: How long until I don’t have to bring treats with me anymore?

A: Never. Its not a huge imposition or a large expense so just bring some small treats with you.

 

Q: What do I do if my dog ignores me?

A: Pelt him with a small rock, leash him up and don’t let him off again until he stops ignoring you.

 

Q: What if he really, REALLY wants to get off leash? I want to see him play!

A: I’ll answer your question with another question. What if your 6 year old nephew really REALLY wants to play with your power tools?

 

Q: You keep saying “he” but my dog is a girl.

A: Get some whiteout, cover all the places it says “he”, write in “she”, then get a new computer screen because you just fucked yours up.

 

 

 

