Maybe you’re broke as fuck. Maybe you have to cut back on food expenditure to save money for you next great adventure. Maybe you are so cheap that every rabi in a 100km radius knows of you and is humbled every time your name is mentioned. Well, my stingy friend, I have a meal that you will appreciate.

For about 5-10NT per cup you can be chowing down a super food that clocks in at: 340 calories, 9 grams of fiber, 12 grams of protein and 40% of your daily recommended intake of calcium. That equals: Indestructible skeletal structure, lean muscle mass and tyrannosaur sized turds. Popeye and his spinach can now go sit in a corner and wallow in shame.

And you can hardly beat it for convenience. The ONLY food I can think of that matches oatmeal for convenience is instant noodles; they even cost about the same (though not in Taiwan). But with virtually no fiber or protein and an ingredients list that reads like a Chemistry final, I wouldn’t recommend relying too heavily on noodles for sustenance.

But isn’t oatmeal… Bland? If you aren’t willing to let your tastebuds take one for the team then maybe you don’t DESERVE Rocky-style Asian adventures! But there is hope anyways. Forget what you think you know about acceptable flavors of oatmeal. Here’s what “They” don’t want you to know: oatmeal can and should be eaten in just about every flavor; sweet or salty! For instance: just now I had oatmeal flavored with chicken bouillon and pepper. This morning I had a cup of oatmeal mixed with a can of tuna. You can add just about anything and it will pair just fine.

Oatmeal is great but there are other cheap additions that can make it better. I just about always add 2 eggs if i’m cooking at home. If i have to settle for hot water from 7-11 that cant be counted on to cook the eggs, I might pack a bottle of olive oil in my backpack for the purpose. Protein powder is great but a little expensive so I sometimes add powdered milk. I have even added oatmeal to my soup to stretch the broth it a little further.

To my knowledge, there is nothing that can match instant oatmeal for: nutrition, convenience, versatility and value. If you are serious about stretching your cash, make this super food a regular part of your diet.

