he locals seem incapable of wrapping their head around the idea that getting “violently” bashed over the head is less painful than “peacefully” asphyxiating to death. If you cant figure that one out on your own, I can’t help you out but maybe you should move here so that you can be with your intellectual peers. But even fellow Americans will ask why I care how fish feel. It comes down to the Golden Rule. If the tables were turned, i’d much rather receive a fast coup de grace than asphyxiate to death.

 

But again, who gives a shit about fish? Me, I guess. Thing is, most people who know me casually will tell you that there isn’t an ounPhilosophy: beating fish with a hammer

 

Many a local has been horrified to see me bludgeoning fish to death. While at first I sound like a future serial killer, my reason is exactly opposite of delighting in the torture of helpless animals.

 

The locals seem incapable of wrapping their head around the idea that getting “violently” bashed over the head is less painful than “peacefully” asphyxiating to death. If you cant figure that one out on your own, I can’t help you out but maybe you should move here so that you can be with your intellectual peers. But even fellow Americans will ask why I care how fish feel. It comes down to the Golden Rule. If the tables were turned, i’d much rather receive a fast coup de grace than asphyxiate to death.

 

But again, who gives a shit about fish? Me, I guess. Thing is, most people who know me casually will tell you that there isn’t an ounce of compassion in me (I think the scientific term is “raging asshole”). Those who know me a little better might guess its because I like animals. Those who know me really well generally wish they didn’t but i digress. The truth is: I have an overdeveloped sense of right and wrong.

 

That an innocent animal should receive better tretment than the worst of the human race do doesn’t quite resonate with me. In the modern world, you have to fuck up REALLY badly to get executed. We’re talking nothing short of particularly shocking murder. Even then, an execution is quick. Weather: beheading, hanging (in most cases), lethal injection or a firing squad, the process of dying is a few seconds long at most. We don’t drag it out. That’s just sick. On the other hand, none of the fish I have caught have, to my knowledge, committed cold-blooded murder, shot up an elementary school or turned their volume all the way up to play Clash of Clans on a busy train. Why does a murderer deserve a quick, painless death but the fish doesn’t deserve a quick end? I can spare 2 seconds to put the poor guy out of its misery. Can’t you?

ce of compassion in me (I think the scientific term is “raging asshole”). Those who know me a little better might guess its because I like animals. Those who know me really well generally wish they didn’t but i digress. The truth is: I have an overdeveloped sense of right and wrong.

 

That an innocent animal should receive better tretment than the worst of the human race do doesn’t quite resonate with me. In the modern world, you have to fuck up REALLY badly to get executed. We’re talking nothing short of particularly shocking murder. Even then, an execution is quick. Weather: beheading, hanging (in most cases), lethal injection or a firing squad, the process of dying is a few seconds long at most. We don’t drag it out. That’s just sick. On the other hand, none of the fish I have caught have, to my knowledge, committed cold-blooded murder, shot up an elementary school or turned their volume all the way up to play Clash of Clans on a busy train. Why does a murderer deserve a quick, painless death but the fish doesn’t deserve a quick end? I can spare 2 seconds to put the poor guy out of its misery. Can’t you?

 

